Home Music Saoirse Ronan, Macklemore and Picture This team up with Eoghan McDermott for...

Saoirse Ronan, Macklemore and Picture This team up with Eoghan McDermott for CEOL 2018

350,000 copies of CEOL 2018 le hEoghan McDermott will land in schools on September 26th


The line-up for CEOL 2018 le hEoghan McDermott, a compilation of some of the biggest songs of this year recorded by their original artists as Gaeilge, has been announced.

Collectively, the original versions of these popular songs have accumulated over half a billion hits on Spotify – and now they’re available in Irish.

With a spoken word introduction from Irish actress Saoirse Ronan and multi-platinum artist Macklemore, the album will be delivered to every school in the country on Wednesday September 26th – and download codes will be shared with thousands of third level students.

CEOL 2018 curator Eoghan McDermott said: “I’m so excited to announce the CEOL 2018 line-up. It’s one hell of a list and includes Kodaline, John Gibbons ft Soulé, Picture This, JP Cooper, Gavin James, The Coronas, Parson James, Wild Youth & loads more fantastic artists.”

“We are especially honoured that after the untimely passing of Dolores O’Riordan, The Cranberries have very kindly gifted us the use of the original backing track for Linger, which has been recorded beautifully by Sibéal.

“The album has been in the making for over a year now, and the whole process has been phenomenal. In the last week of production, tracks were being recorded in Dublin, London, LA and New York, which is awesome. Mega excited to share it with everyone!”

Full Tracklisting for CEOL 2018:

  1. Fáilte go CEOL – Saoirse Ronan agus Macklemore
  2. Picture This – Is Sinne Óg (When We Were Young)
  3. JP Cooper – Amhrán an Fhómhair (September Song)
  4. Kodaline – Ag Fadú d’Aidhme (Follow Your Fire)
  5. John Gibbons ft Soulé – Spéaclaí Gréine sa Bháisteach (Sunglasses in the Rain)
  6. Gavin James – I gCónaí (Always)
  7. Wheatus – Stócach Brocach (Teenage Dirtbag)
  8. The Academic – Do Chroí Anocht (Bear Claws)
  9. Parson James – Muid a Ghoid an Seó (Stole the Show)
  10. Hudson Taylor – Mothaigh Arís É (Feel It Again)
  11. The Coronas – Nílimid Bréagach (We Couldn’t Fake It)
  12. Wild Youth – Mé Sáite Ann (Can’t Move On)
  13. Chasing Abbey – Labhair Liom (Talk To Me)
  14. Delorentos –  Insan Nóiméad (In the Moment)
  15. Sibéal with The Cranberries – Fuarú (Linger)
  16. Seo Linn – Bain an Glas
  17. Nóra agus Jade – Fuil na nÓg (Winners of BEO 2017)