Latest Posts

Here are the cities shortlisted to host the Eurovision Song Contest 2023

Last month, the Eurovision Broadcasting Union (EBU) announced that the United Kingdom would host the Eurovision Song Contest 2023.

The news came after the EBU’s June announcement which stated that the 2022 winners Ukraine could not host next year’s song contest due to the ongoing war in the country.

The UK’s Sam Ryder came runner-up to Ukraine’s Kalush Orchestra in the 66th annual contest.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by SAM RYDER (@samhairwolfryder)

The BBC have since announced their seven-strong list of cities in the UK, which could potentially host the 2023 contest in May.

The list is comprised of: Birmingham, Glasgow, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle and Sheffield.

In a statement announcing the shortlist, the BBC said: “Seven cities have been shortlisted based on their ability to meet a set of minimum requirements that demonstrate they have the capacity, capability and experience to host an event of this scale and complexity.”

“Given the short period of time available until the event will be staged, the selection process was heavily weighted towards demonstrating past experience in hosting major international events, as well as being able to demonstrate their credentials in hosting a celebration of contemporary music.”

“The Host City selection process is a two-stage process and these seven cities will now go through to the second and final stage, where they will be asked to develop their bids in more detail. The selection of the Host City for the Eurovision Song Contest 2023 will be decided by the BBC in conjunction with the EBU, and the successful city will be announced in the Autumn,” the statement concluded.

In 2023, the Eurovision Song Contest will be held in the UK for the ninth time – more than any other country has held it previously (Ireland has only hosted the contest seven times).

As the 2022 winners, Ukraine will automatically qualify for the grand final alongside “The Big 5”: the UK, France, Germany, Italy and Spain who each automatically qualify because of their substantial financial contributions to the annual event.


Latest Posts

Don't Miss