Home Irish Showbiz The FULL list of nominees ahead of this year’s virtual IFTA Awards

The FULL list of nominees ahead of this year’s virtual IFTA Awards

The awards ceremony will air this Sunday

The IFTA Awards will return with a virtual ceremony on Sunday (October 18), airing on Virgin Media One at 10pm.

Taking place in a unique studio setting, the ceremony will bring the glitz and glam of Hollywood into our living rooms with an impressive line-up of a-list stars presenting awards and delivering some very special messages to Ireland.

The show promises to be a great night of entertainment, with Deirdre O’Kane at the helm – who will act as the host for the fourth time.

This year’s IFTAs will see nominations from both 2019 and 2020 productions, after no ceremony was held last year.

The ceremony will be broken down into 25 categories in Film and Drama, celebrating Irish creative talent working at home and abroad.

Check out the full list of nominees below:

Best Film 2019

Black ’47
Float Like a Butterfly
The Dig
The Hole in the Ground

Best Film 2020

A Bump Along the Way
Calm with Horses
Extra Ordinary
Ordinary Love

Best Director – Film

Paddy Breathnach – Rosie
Nora Twomey – The Breadwinner
Lance Daly – Black ’47
Tom Sullivan – Arracht
Mike Ahern & Enda Loughman – Extra Ordinary
Lee Cronin – The Hole in the Ground
Lisa Barros D’Sa & Glenn Leyburn – Ordinary Love

Best Script – Film

Roddy Doyle – Rosie
Owen McCafferty – Ordinary Love
Joe Murtagh – Calm with Horses
Mark O’Halloran – Rialto
Tom Sullivan – Arracht
Carmel Winters – Float Like a Butterfly

Actress in a Lead Role – Film

Jessie Buckley – Wild Rose
Aisling Franciosi – The Nightingale
Bronagh Gallagher – A Bump Along The Way
Sarah Greene – Rosie
Seána Kerslake – The Hole In The Ground
Saoirse Ronan – Little Women

Actor in a Lead Role – Film

Dara Devaney – Finky
Moe Dunford – The Dig
Liam Neeson – Ordinary Love
Dónall Ó Héalaí – Arracht
Tom Vaughan Lawlor – Rialto
Barry Ward – Extra Ordinary


Actress in a Supporting Role – Film

Niamh Algar – Calm With Horses
Catriona Balfe – Le Mans ’66
Seána Kerslake – Dublin Oldschool
Charlie Murphy – Dark Lies The Island
Emily Taaffe – The Dig
Catherine Walker – We Ourselves

Seana Kerslake | VIPIRELAND.COM

Actor in a Supporting Role – Film

Lorcan Cranitch – The Dig
Dara Devaney – Arracht
Barry Keoghan – Calm With Horses
Ian Lloyd-Anderson – Dublin Oldschool
Stephen Rea – Black ’47
David Wilmot – Ordinary Love

The George Morrison Feature Documentary Award

The Image you Missed
The Lonely Battle of Thomas Reid
When All is Ruin Once Again


Best Drama

Death and Nightingales
Dublin Murders

Best Director – Drama

Anthony Byrne – Peaky Blinders
John Hayes – Dublin Murders
Lisa Mulcahy – Blood
Hannah Quinn – Blood
Aisling Walsh – Elizabeth is Missing
Dearbhla Walsh – The Handmaid’s Tale

Best Script – Drama

Ronan Bennett – Top Boy
Daragh Carville – The Bay
Mark O’Connor – Darklands
Mark O’Rowe – Temple

Actress in a Lead Role – Drama

Niamh Algar – The Virtues
Caitriona Balfe – Outlander
Jessie Buckley – The Woman in White
Sarah Greene – Dublin Murders
Ruth Negga – Preacher
Ann Skelly – Death and Nightingales


Actor in a Lead Role – Drama

Richard Dormer – Fortitude
Adrian Dunbar – Line Of Duty
Brendan Gleeson – Mr Mercedes
Cillian Murphy – Peaky Blinders
Chris O’Dowd – Get Shorty
Andrew Scott – Black Mirror – Smithereens

Actress in a Supporting Role – Drama

Niamh Algar – Pure
Helen Behan – The Virtues
Ruth Bradley – Guilt
Jessie Buckley – Chernobyl
Ingrid Craigie – Blood
Fiona Shaw – Killing Eve

Actor in a Supporting Role – Drama

Liam Cunningham – Game of Thrones
Barry Keoghan – Chernobyl
Owen McDonnell – Killing Eve
Cillian O’Gairbhi – Blood
Mark O’Halloran – The Virtues
Tom Vaughan Lawlor – Dublin Murders

Liam Cunningham in Game of Thrones

Short Film (Live Action)

Ciúnas (Silence)
El Hor
Here’s Looking at you Kid!
Sister This
The Grass Ceiling
The Vasectomy Doctor
Welcome To A Bright White Limbo

Short Film (Animation) 

Outside the Box
Streets of Fury
The Bird & the Whale
The Dream Report
The Overcoat

Best Cinematography

Tom Comerford – The Hole in the Ground
Andrew McConnel – Gaza
Kate McCullough – Arracht
Piers McGrail – Never Grow Old
Robbie Ryan – Marriage Story
Cathal Watters – Rosie


Best Costume Design

Joan Bergin – The Catcher was a Spy
Clodagh Deegan – Arracht
Triona Lillis – Float Like A Butterfly
Eimear Ni Mhaoldomhnaigh – The Rhythm Section
Susan O’Connor Cave – Vikings
Louise Stanton – Rosie

Best Editing

Colin Campbell – The Hole in The Ground
Dermot Diskin – Never Grow Old
Michael Harte – Three Identical Strangers
Tony Kearns – Black Mirror: Bandersnatch
Mick Mahon – Gaza
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle – Rosie

Best Original Music

KÍLA – Arracht
Stephen McKeon – The Hole in the Ground
Stephen Rennicks – The Little Stranger
Brian Byrne – Black ’47
Ray Harman – Blood
Stephen Rennicks – Rosie

Best Production Design

Tom Conroy – The Rhythm Section
Damien Creagh – Calm with Horses
Conor Dennison – The Hole in the Ground
John Leslie – Never Grow Old
Padraig O’Neil – Arracht
Anna Rackard – The Trial of Christine Keeler

Best Sound

Brendan Rehill & Alan Scully – Arracht
Fionáin Higgins & Robert Flanagan – Black ’47
Ronan Hill, Danny Crowley & Simon Kerr – Game of Thrones
Aza Hand, Karen O’Mahony and Patrick Drummond – Never Grow Old
Hugh Fox & Niall Brady – Rosie
Steve Fanagan Niall Brady – The Little Stranger

Best Makeup & Hair

Niamh O’Loan – Arracht
Linda Gannon & Liz Byrne – Black ’47
Louise Myler – Finky
Polly McKay – Ordinary Love
Dee Corcoran & Tom McInerney – Vikings
Eileen Buggy & Jennifer Hegarty – Vita & Virginia

Best VFX

Jim O’Hagan and Ronan Gantly – Game of Thrones
Ed Bruce – The Favourite
Ed Bruce and Jim O’Hagan – The Irishman
Ed Bruce and Nicholas Murphy – We Have Always Lived in the Castle

Previous articleWATCH: Greg O’Shea addresses Caroline Flack’s death in teaser clip for Lodging With Lucy
Next articleGillian Anderson teases The Fall could return for a fourth season