Latest Posts

Irish stars Domhnall Gleeson, Ruth Negga and Ciarán Hinds added to Oscars voting class

Irish stars Domhnall Gleeson, Ruth Negga and Ciarán Hinds have been invited to become members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS).

Oscars organisers have revealed their 774-strong ‘Class of 2017’, including three Irish invitees who will be able to vote for Oscar nominees each year.

Ruth’s invitation comes after she was nominated for an Oscar and Golden Globe for her performance in Loving.

Meanwhile, Domhnall Gleeson has been tipped for an Oscar nom next year, for his role as Winnie the Pooh creator AA Milne in upcoming the biopic Goodbye Christopher Robin.

Honour: Ruth has been asked to become a member of The Academy after her Oscar nomination |


Other Irish people that have been invited to become members of The Academy in the past include: Lenny Abrahamson, John Crowley, Emma Donoghue, Michael Fassbender, Cillian Murphy, Saoirse Ronan and Bono.

The Academy have also made good on their promise to diversify.

Following last year’s Oscars So White controversy, a record number of 744 invitations have been sent out to members of all different aspects of the movie industry.

The Academy has stated 39 percent of those on the list are women and 30 percent are people of colour, with talent from 57 countries represented.

Among the actors receiving invitations are Riz Ahmed, Gal Gadot, Donald Glover, Jon Hamm, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, Zoe Kravitz, Amy Poehler, Margot Robbie and Kristen Stewart.

Adam Driver, Elle Fanning, Anna Faris and Chris Pratt, Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele, Channing Tatum, Betty White and Shailene Woodley were among the other A-listers asked to join the organisation.

See the full list of actors invited to be a part of the 2017 class below, and all other industry professionals on the Academy’s website.

Watch the latest episode of The Daily Goss here:


Latest Posts

Don't Miss